The Mexican government decreed the establishment of the National Seismological Service (Servicio Sismológico Nacional – SSN) on September 5, 1910. At that time the SSN was under the charge of the National Geological Institute under the Ministry of Mines and Development.
Between 1910 and 1923 seismic stations were installed in Tacubaya, DF and in the cities of Oaxaca, Merida, Chihuahua, Veracruz, Guadalajara, Monterrey and Zacatecas. Seismographs were “Wiechert” made in Germany. Seven of these are still operating today and are probably the oldest system of America, which have operated continuously.
Since 1992, the modernization of the National Seismological Networkwith has been undertaken with budgetary support from the Ministry of Interior and the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México. Thus was born the network Broadband Seismological Observatory. Today the SSN has 22 seismic observatories across the country and plans to expand the network to 33 observatories.
Click on Icon for event details.
To view larger map and the list, which has newest events at the top, click on text “View Larger Map” below map.
Zoom out or drag map over for Baja California and Northern Mexico


mag2= 2
mag3= 410
mag4= 71
mag5= 0
mag6= 0
mag7= 0
total= 483
ttnt= 4,791.124

2014 February


mag2= 7
mag3= 389
mag4= 64
mag5= 4
mag6= 0
mag7= 0
total= 464
ttnt= 8,111.626

2014 January

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: